Melrose lose unbeaten record – Hawick make it 3 BP wins in a row

Melrose have lost their unbeaten record at The Greenyards at the hands of rivals Ayr, who turned round a 12-10 interval deficit to take the BT Premiership game 20-12. Richard Ferguson and George Taylor were Melrose’s try scorers but it wasn’t enough to win the match. Watch our TV report here.  Better news for Hawick as The Greens posted their third bonus-point win in a row to lift themselves off the bottom of the table. It was a close run thing with their young Edinburgh Pro star Darcy Graham scoring a try at the death with Lee Armstrong’s conversion sealing the win 24-23 against Heriot’s, who had put 70 points on them earlier in the season at Goldenacre. When the City side went down to 14 men after a red card was issued, it looked as if Hawick would comfortably win the match, especially after they opened up a clear lead, but the Nails came back to get themselves in front by six points towards the end. Darcy Graham’s last gasp effort and the kick from Armstrong gave the Mansfield Park side a valuable five point win.

In National 1 Jedforest came away from GHA with a five-point victory by 38-31 to complete a double over the Glasgow side. Selkirk were 0-20 down at home to Dundee but fought back to lead 22-20, only to let the visitors back into the game at the end to take the spoils 22-25.  Kelso beat Aberdeen Rugby 14-12 with all their points coming in the first half, including a try by captain Andrew Tait (pictured) while Gala got back to winning ways after five straight league defeats. They saw off Falkirk 38-12. Watch highlights of Kelso v Aberdeen Rugby here.

In National 2 Peebles lost their derby game at The Gytes against Biggar 10-15 while in the Third Division St Boswells’ 39-9 win at home to Dalziel keeps them in third place but with a game in hand on second-placed Newton Stewart.

The double header in EL1 which doubled as a Border Shield Quarter Final match was won by Hawick Quins against Duns 43-12, while Earlston and Langholm had comfortable wins in East League 2. Walkerburn neat Caley Thebans in their East Bowl tie.