Booker Border League fixtures announced

Melrose won the Booker Border League title last season at Kelso, winning the final against Gala convincingly, but this season they are yet to start their defence of the title. They will play two games in Pool A against Selkirk and Kelso, and today the remaining fixtures from this season’s two Pools have been announced.

Melrose will play Kelso at Poynder Park on November 24th and Selkirk at home on the Saturday before Christmas while Selkirk and Kelso will use their BT National 1 game at Philiphaugh as a double header to decide the outcome of that tie.

Meanwhile in Pool B, two matches have already been played with Hawick beating Gala and Jedforest winning at Peebles. Gala and Jedforest will double-head their BT NL1 match on November 4th, Peebles will host Hawick on November 24th, Gala will take on Peebles at Netherdale on December 21st with the only Booker Border League match taking place in 2018 will be Jedforest v Hawick on 2nd February.  Hawick are currently well in the lead on the winners table dating back to 1901 when the world’s oldest league started. They have 49 titles and will be hoping for a 50th in 2018.  Melrose are in second place on the all-time list with 18, Gala are on 12 with Jedforest taking the title 10 times. Only Peebles from the Big 7 have never lifted the trophy, with Langholm the only other club outside these to win a title. This happened back in 1958-59 with two leagues unfinished, with no contests during the two World Wars.

Check out our dedicated Border League page here for full information.